Perfectly Imperfect

womanweight

Hello, 2017!!! I hope everyone enjoyed the holidays. I’m going to kick off this new year with a clean slate. I have spent way too much time and energy on my past. To be honest, even I was sick of my damn attitude. Therefore, I finally decided that my only goal for this year was to find peace of mind in a world of uncertainty. I literally have a blank canvas to begin my journey. I deleted any negative document that I shared with others (even though I kept it for my own record), and decided that even if others don’t want to read what I have to say, at least I get the practice writing and can get my thoughts out somehow…which leads me to the first concept that exploded in my head not too long ago…

I decided to become the early bird and start working out before the new year so I would have a leg up on the typical New Year’s Resolution. I began doing ten minutes of high-intensity interval training in November, and I have worked my way up to twenty minutes. In addition, I have been walking my dog off and on (I say it that way because the crazy holidays have been erratic when it comes to walking her), and I have also been trying to stay as active as I can just in general everyday activities. Even though ten to twenty minutes of scheduled exercise doesn’t seem like much, it really has helped me shape up and lose some inches. I am very excited about what I have done in the two months I have dedicated to doing this and seeing results in more ways than one has really motivated me to keep going with it.

One day, I was exercising…or should I say gasping for air like Fat Tony on The Longest Yard…and my husband came in to distract me. He did a very good job because he had me laughing and choking for air at the same time; however, I must say I still kept going with the exercise even though I was failing miserably at keeping up due to the giggle, gasp, sweat drip combo I had going on. If anyone knew my husband, they would definitely know how difficult it is to be in the same room without my crazy guy making him or her laugh about something. He can do impressions and has a witty comeback for everything! This is actually one of the many charming reasons I fell in love with him.

A few days later, I was back at it again, only this time he came in while I decided to do an additional exercise with core strength training. I was posted up on all fours and suddenly he came from behind pretending to go at it with me doggie style. I know some people might be thinking, “OK, that’s definitely TMI!”, but I had to paint the picture that made me think about how most women can be embarrassed about certain things that they really shouldn’t worry about. That got me thinking about a series of thoughts I wanted to share with women and moms, or rather an advice most people may or may not know and I have proven to be authentic over the years. I’m really not talking about true counsel, but rather the humor in the conduction.

I understand, most people don’t want to hear the same things that they know is true. I’m sure if anyone reads this there is bound to be some impatient sighs and a few eye rolls. The difference between this and other stereotypes of endless advice is that, for lack of a better word, I have decided to just flow with my life and write about all the nuttiness that occurs in my world. By doing this, I hope to possibly inspire or experience the ups and downs of this crazy game of life with women who understand. If not, well, maybe I can just comfort myself in my one room padded cell.

Anyway, back to what I was rambling on about…I realized in that moment that all those times I felt self-conscious in the past was because I cared so much about what I looked like when I was exercising. I am not sure if other women feel this way, but I know I used to. The aha moment was when my husband came up behind me and started messing around. I then concluded that there is no reason whatsoever to be embarrassed about working out because I was doing this for me and no one else.

Additionally, most men love watching women exercise in the first place. This leads me to all the gym scenes shown in movies or in the media where guys are making an ass out of themselves to show off, while most of us women are too busy wondering if our belly fat is hanging out of our shirt or if our flabby arms wiggle when we move them too fast. I’ve know several men I’ve been friends with who have gone to the gym just to pick up women. I even found out once, when I was younger, that a friend of my ex’s had a thing for me and he didn’t understand why I didn’t want him to watch me exercise. While I was busy worrying about what I looked like, he was probably fantasizing about how I looked bent over doing mountain climbers.

So, women, if your excuse for not working out is not having enough time…well, I know that is bullshit in and of itself. We all have the same amount of time in the day, and if Oprah can work out and lose weight, then there is no damn reason why you can’t. But if you are anything like me and you have had a difficult past, then you will be happy to know that men find you sexy with your ass up in the air doing the downward dog. Don’t be afraid to make a fool of yourself because it’s fucking liberating!! Plus, if he’s going to tease you and make you feel bad, then it’s really his complex and not yours.

I hope you at least got a little laughter for the day because I know that one of the ways I have found to relieve stress and anxiety is humor. We as women sometimes tend to get over emotional about things when what we really should do is take a page from the book of a child and giggle while we blow bubbles in our chocolate milk…OK, maybe not that extreme, but you get what I’m saying. The petty things shouldn’t matter in this crazy world. My newest motto is: worry less, live more. Have you ever heard the saying coined by psychologist Carl Jung, “What you resist persists”? I’m really starting to believe it’s true. The more I try to control the situation I’m in, the more frustrating and difficult it gets. This is why I decided to carpe diem! Just go with it! “Lean wit it, rock wit it!”

So, I hope you join me on this journey of ups and downs, but until then… “Never take life seriously. Nobody gets out alive anyway.” I was going to give credit to the owner of this quote, but it turns out several different people have said a variation of the same thing, which just goes to show that is the exact attitude we should all have in the first place. If you feel up to the challenge, Here’s a link to a video I posted on my youtube channel about self-love: https://youtu.be/8Ys4ahHq_Ww. I don’t have a lot of videos just yet, but I am working on different things as I feel inspired. Have a wonderful day!

Copyright © 2017 [Carrie Pottberg]. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

