Ode to the Interview

restless

Sitting in the waiting room…
Breathless…
Anticipating…
Shaking with excitement,
But mostly anxiety…
My stomach growls,
And I laugh to myself.
What a way to make an entrance!
I wonder and distress–
The uneasiness of being
In the performance limelight!
I repeat positive affirmations
In my head,
And quietly pray
That this time
They can see
How much I have
To offer
The world.
A sigh of relief
Leaves my chest
As I walk slowly
Out the door.
Once again to anticipate–
Ah, the waiting game!
Such craziness!
I need to know now!
But here I sit restless;
Why next week?

logo-restless

Copyright © 2017 [Carrie Pottberg]. All Rights Reserved.

One thought on “Ode to the Interview

Leave a Reply

