Broken Dreams

Sharing an older poem I haven’t put on here yet…not too old…written 01/30/2017.
images
Life isn’t always
what it seems,
So don’t fill your vessel
With broken dreams.
Sometimes the questions
Seem worthless and vain,
But the more you know
Will keep you sane.
What’s the point
To all of this?
I’m tired of crying–
I want my bliss!
All I can attempt
Is to keep moving on–
Hope somehow my steps
Will show a new dawn,
But every time
I conquer fear
The hope I felt
Brings another tear!
Something new
To test my devotion,
And bring anxiety
Back into motion.
Is life a hopeless
Mess of fate?
I’d like to believe
I can pull my own weight!
I want to see how I
Can control my thoughts,
And create a life that doesn’t
Make me distraught.
I can only hope
I find this soon
Because I’m stuck in
This chrysalis–
I’m deep in
My cocoon,
And I want to rise
And see happy days!
Where all my heart–
All my soul, love, and joy
Are coming to stay!
Copyright © 2017 [Carrie Pottberg]. All Rights Reserved.
One thought on “Broken Dreams

Leave a Reply

