Hats Off To You

Hats Off To You

tuxedo-41671_960_720

 

Hats off to you for your brilliant performance,
But you don’t care about me and my life!
You give fifty percent and want me to give all
Leaving me lost in my worries and strife.

I applaud you and praise you for saying you care,
But I know all you think of is you!
I want to believe that you have a concern–
My heart wants to consider it’s true!

But, when I reach out and need you the most
You shun me and push me aside.
You say my anxiety is yours to take on,
But you don’t even act like you’ve tried!

So, go ahead, take a bow or a curtsey– I’ll clap
Because it’s obvious you need the attention!
You’re supposed to be nurturing me, but you don’t–
I’ll take the lead– here’s your suspension–

Copyright © 2017 [Carrie Pottberg]. All Rights Reserved.

2 thoughts on “Hats Off To You

Leave a Reply

